When In Doubt, Roll Up Your Sleeves & Get Dirty

You dream of owning a home. You go through all kinds of craziness to buy said home. Finally, you find yourself as a proud homeowner, with a pair of keys that are exclusively yours! What do you do next?  If you’re anything like me, you immediately jump headfirst into plans for decorating.

I started scouring the internet for inspiration on how to make our new nest reflect our taste.  And, boy did I find my inspiration!  Unfortunately, our budget couldn’t match my expensive taste in furniture and artwork.  (Particularly, for those first few months that followed after paying a hefty down-payment.)  For one example, this gorgeous piece of artwork at DwellStudio really caught my eye – but, I couldn’t (and still can’t) meet its $1,625 asking price.

DwellStudio-Paule-Marrot-Pink-Maze-Artwork

If I couldn’t afford my crush-worthy items, I realized that I could try to recreate them…  So – that’s what I set out to do.  I recreated the Paule Marrot Pink Maze piece from DwellStudio.

These were my materials at-hand, for the reproduction:

  • A printer
  • Tracing paper & pencil
  • Watercolor Paints
  • Watercolor Paper (I prefer Arches Water Color Blocks, for projects that involve watercolor paint or gouache.  Its quality is excellent!)

dwell1before
Above: My first attempt at recreating the Paule Marrot piece. About a quarter of the way through, I grew really unhappy with the color and started again from scratch.  (I wasn’t impressed with the way the red took on a “tomato” sort of hue.  I felt like I was painting with a can of V8!)

dwell2

Above: The second attempt at recreating the same piece, using a bright pink pigment.  This time, I was pleased with the results!

Now, if only I could decide where to hang it…

6 thoughts on “When In Doubt, Roll Up Your Sleeves & Get Dirty

Leave a Reply

