The Art of Tim Burton

One of the first artists ever to influence me is the incomparable Tim Burton. He influenced the way that I process images and visual storytelling, so early in my life that I didn’t even realize what was happening, as I was learning. (Most people don’t realize that he was an animator for Disney, before he became a renowned director. He contributed as a storyboard and concept artist to Disney’s The Fox and the Hound and The Black Cauldron – which are two films that I loved, growing up.)

Though I’ve been less thrilled with most of TB’s film-projects, following (the stunning) Big Fish, I still consider myself a big fan.  And, when I heard that some of his closest friends and colleagues were collaborating to celebrate him, by publishing  a book of his (never-before published) artwork, my heart immediately started to pound!

Processed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcam

Hubby surprised me with the DELUXE EDITION, as a Christmas present.  (Not only that, we managed to snag it in time, to get it as a FIRST edition!)  Above, a bookplate that was signed by the man himself.

Processed with VSCOcam

Above: A special-edition lithograph, signed by the man himself.

Processed with VSCOcam

Above: An illustration drawn by Tim Burton, as a child.

Processed with VSCOcam

Above: Concept artwork of Catwoman and the Penguin, for Batman Returns. (I was obsessed with this version of Catwoman, growing up. In 1992, I was Catwoman for Halloween; and I still remember how awesome that costume was!)

tb_rockyhorror

Above: “People in line for Rocky Horror show.”

Processed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

3 thoughts on “The Art of Tim Burton

  1. Hi in your search for artisans have you come across anyone local I.e. lakeworth. Are you perhaps a artisan with something special to offer?
    Like Burton have you been introduced to EdwardGoerey by chance? annaMaria

Leave a Reply

